History of the Port Melbourne Soccer Club

A quick history of the Port Melbourne Soccer Club

Nickname: Sharks, Nea Ellas

Founded: 1968/69
Ground: SS Anderson Reserve, Port Melbourne

Home colours:  Navy Blue and ReThe Port Melbourne Sharks are an Australian football club from Port Melbourne, a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. The club was formed in 1968/69 by Greek immigrants; the club grew throughout the 1970’s and 1980’s playing in the lower leagues but were finally promoted to the Victorian Premier League in 1994. Over their tenure from 1994-2003 they won the minor premiership twice, but were unable to win the title.

Over the years the club developed and expanded its facilities, one of the best in the state. The club has amassed a number of junior squads and old boys’ teams and in recent years has focused on its women’s and sub junior teams. A number of its juniors went on and played overseas and the then National League and some still play today in the “A” League.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Port Melbourne SC is committed to the development of football and developing players of the future.Club Honours

Victorian Premier League Minor Premiers
1995, 2001
Victorian State League Division 1 Champions
Victorian State League Division 2 Champions
1989, 1992, 2010
Victorian State League Division 3 Champions
1977, 1987
Hellenic Cup Champions
1994, 1995
Crazy John Cup Winner



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s