A quick history of the Port Melbourne Soccer Club

Nickname: Sharks, Nea Ellas

The club was formed in 1968/69 by Greek immigrants. The club grew throughout the 1970’s and 1980’s playing in the lower leagues but were finally promoted to the Victorian Premier League in 1994. Over their tenure from 1994-2003 they won the minor premiership twice, but were unable to win the title.

Over the years the club developed and expanded its facilities to be one of the best in the state. The club  amassed a number of junior squads and old boys’ teams between 2004 and 2012 as well as women’s and sub junior teams. A number of its juniors went on and played overseas and the then National League and some still play today in the “A” League.

In 2014, Port Melbourne Sharks was one of the inaugural clubs partaking in the newly formed National Premier Leagues competition.  Since then, the club has grown in its professionalism and has developed outstanding youth development pathways for our junior players. In 2019, the club fielded almost 450 players from MiniRoos right through to Senior Women (Victorian State League) and Senior Men (National Premier Leagues).

Club Honours

Victorian Premier League Minor Premiers
1995, 2001
Victorian State League Division 1 Champions
Victorian State League Division 2 Champions
1989, 1992, 2010
Victorian State League Division 3 Champions
1977, 1987
Hellenic Cup Champions
1994, 1995
Crazy John Cup Winner